Override default settings

Override default settings is an editing section at the bottom of Edit Order’s editing screen. This section allows you to override the default settings in your Edit Order Advanced Settings. The override is only applied to the single order that you're editing at the time.

Common uses for Override default settings:

  1. Selecting a new email confirmation template
  2. Deleting the existing order after order edit
  3. Not issuing a refund for the order
  4. Advanced workflows

1. Selecting a new email confirmation template

In your Edit Order Advanced Settings, you can select a default email confirmation template to be sent for both edited order, and new orders. However, in some cases, you may want to select a different order confirmation email for a specific email, or choose to not send a confirmation email at all for certain orders and edits.

In these cases, you can select an alternative email confirmation template option, including the option “Do not send email to customer”. 

2. Deleting the existing order after order edit

In some cases, it may be useful to delete the original order after order edit. Please note: Shopify only allows for certain types of orders to be deleted. For example, orders that were created as a result of a credit card of PayPal transaction can not be deleted. Because of this limitation, this override can not be relied upon for most orders. This override can be used if you’re editing an order that:

  • Was paid via manual gateway like COD or bank transfer
  • Has already been edited before (#1000A)

3. Not issuing a refund for the order

In some cases, you may want to block Edit Order from automatically issuing a refund when editing an order. For more info on this workflow, please see this article: Preventing Edit Order from automatically issuing a refund

4. Advanced workflows

Override default settings is an essential tool used for some specific advanced workflows. For example:


Got questions? Drop us a line at: support@editorder.net