How Edit Order works
When you edit an order, we create a copy of your order with all the existing order details for you to edit. Once you complete your edits, Edit Order performs a “save as” by canceling the original order and applying the original payment to the newly edited version of the order. This ensures that there’s a clear paper trail of what has happened with the order at all times.
For example, say you edited order 1014. When you click save, order number 1014 will be cancelled, and order 1014A will be created with all your edits intact.
Once you are directed back to the Orders page, you will now see your new order marked with an appended letter (#1014A). The original order should appear below it in red (#1014), indicating that the order has been marked as cancelled.
What happens when the total price changes?
- If the total price for the edited order is less than the total price for the original order, a refund is issued to your customer automatically.
- If you want to add another refund later, you’ll need to go back to the original order to do so. Learn more about how to perform a refund.
- If the total price for the edited order is greater than the total price for the original order, a pending amount is posted to the balance of the edited order.
- You can send a payment request to collect the outstanding amount. Learn more about how to send a payment request.
- If your edited order ends up being the exact same price as your original order, no refunds are issued and the edited order will be automatically marked as paid.
What happens to the original payment?
For record keeping purposes, Edit Order copies the transaction history from the original order and applies it to the edited order. This makes it easier to see at a glance what the customer has paid to date without needing to backtrack to the original order. However, this does not mean your customer is charged twice. What you’ll see on your edited order is a copy of the transaction history from the original order, like a carbon copy, not a duplicate.